Product Review: Allison Boots

Good Morning! I’m staying for two more weekends so this is my third-to-last weekend here at the SAFE shop – I’m going to miss it! If you’ve ever been keen on working for SAFE, now is the time to check it out. We are looking for someone to replace me on the weekends – job involves promoting veganism and checking out all of the coolest new vegan products on the market! If you really want to make a difference for animals email eve@safe.org.nz with your CV and cover letter to apply. Applications close 25th March. Ideal for a uni student.

Just before I launch into our main feature, I’ve noticed a few people are having problems with subscribing to the blog. You must have a wordpress account to subscribe to wordpress blogs. It’s free to sign up and you don’t have to start a blog. Log in, go to the blog and then on your wordpress toolbar at the top, click on subscribe. Then go to your account, go to your subscriptions and select how often you want to receive emails. If that isn’t clear, just flick me an email on ana@safe.org.nz and I should be able to help you out.

Enough of that though…guess what I bought two weeks ago? That’s right – vegan microfibre boots! Wow!!!!! These shoes are such great quality and feel so amazing. I truly was surprised at how sturdy they are. These boots are soft and divine, plus, they are fair trade too! So now you can get animal AND people friendly boots:) We will be getting more boots and sizes in as winter approaches but do get in quick because they go fast!

I love the fact that they complement so many outfits perfectly – casual uni wear, formal workwear and even that cute ‘lil vintage dress you’ve been dying to take out. They are also calf hugging so they don’t flap about and look silly. What I love most about them is that they are plain and therefore timeless. They are black with a simple round toe and no hideous zips and bits and bobs that will be out next winter.

Price

$250.00

As a vegan buying non-leather shoes, I’ve gotten used to buying cheaper leather-free alternatives. However, given how expensive leather shoes are (up to $500 for boots) this is pretty reasonable – especially considering how long they last. What’s more, you don’t have to worry about this skin rotting and degrading over time – it isn’t real animal flesh and as such does not need harsh chemicals applied that are bad for you, the workers and the environment. Don’t forget, all proceeds go to SAFE.

Longevity

Easily 5 years +. It all depends on what you do in your boots of course, but take care of them and they become the gift that keeps on giving!

Overall Rating

10/10 – maybe I’m just so excited about having such amazing quality shoes but seriously, every girl needs a pair of these.

Check out the Novacas website and flick us an email at shop@safe.org.nz if you have any requests for particular styles this season. We can’t keep too many shoes because we are small, but we will definitely look into it!

Also, don’t forget I’m always keen on contributors for the blog – especially for product reviews. Please flick me an email on ana@safe.org.nz if you want to offer your knowledge!

This entry was posted in Products, Today in the Shop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review: Allison Boots

  1. Natasha says:

    Those boots are nice!
    I wish I could afford them.

    • I wish they came in my hoof size! Yep, they’re not cheap but they’re apparently really comfortable and extremely well made so you should get lots of wear out of them (as long as you’re good to them). I’ve also just worked out how to operate a “lay-by” in our system, and I’ve just got new stock in, so if you started now you’d have a pair paid for by winter 🙂

Leave a Reply

